Arc Review: Only Ever You

43041159.jpg

Title: Only Ever you

Author: Siobhan Davis

Genre: Romance

Publisher: Independently Published

Publication Date: October 11, 2018 

Links: Goodreads | BookBub | Amazon

Source: Siobhan’s Squad/Social Butterfly Pr

Rating: ★★★★★



#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Brief Synopsis: He’s the hot-as-sin rocker hiding a secret that would devastate his fans. She’s the only girl he’s ever loved, but keeping her safe means he had to walk away… 


Review: Siobhan’s books always break my heart, so I was scared and excited to pick this one up. “Only Ever You” blew my mind! Siobhan really focused on mental health, mostly towards the male lead character. I feel that having books about mental health in the community is great. Especially one that focuses on the male suffering with mental illness. So many men are brought up to be tough, keep their feelings hidden and not to speak about their feelings and that is ridiculous! We are all people who feel the same emotions and go through so many things, it is unfair to require one sex to close off their emotions. This book brought out so many emotions in me and I hope that it effects you in the same way. Thank you Siobhan and Social Butterfly for letting me read this book.

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

SAMANTHA MCCOMBS | BOOKISHSTATEOFMIND

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

Review: small potatoes: mouthwatering musings of a misanthrope

42298539.jpg

Title: small potatoes: mouthwatering musings of a misanthrope

Author: Sarah Hunt

Genre: Adult Comedy

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform

Publication Date: October 11, 2018 

Links: Goodreads | Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Source: Sarah Hunt

Rating: ★★★★★


#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME


Synopsis: Enjoy the misanthropic musings of humorist Sarah Hunt as she takes you through a journey of essays about the minutiae.


Review: This book was hilarious and it made me so hungry. I think Sarah needs to put a warning label on her book that says “causes extreme hunger” because I constantly craved the foods she was describing. I found Sarah through her podcast, "P.S. I Hate This Movie”. I enjoy her voice and her humor, so I was eager to read her new book. She mentions a quote from her dad,

“A day without cheese is a day without sunshine”

and then she follows with,

“Unless you have dietary restrictions… then please, do not.”

Dang it Sarah. I really wanted to blame YOU for my sneaky cheese addiction while having a lactose intolerance. There was also a page that really stuck with me and adheres to my core beliefs.

“1. Take Jar of Miracle Whip.”

“2. Throw it in the garbage can”

The above statement is factual and must be followed at all times.

Thank you Sarah for this amazing book and I can’t wait to read more of your work!


Thanks for checking out my post! xx

SAMANTHA MCCOMBS | BOOKISHSTATEOFMIND

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind


Arc Review: When Forever Changes

whenforeverchanges.jpg

Title: When Forever Changes

Author: Siobhan Davis

Genre: New Adult Romance

Publisher: Independently Published

Publication Date: September 30, 2018

Links: *Book DepositoryGoodreads | BookBub | Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Source: Siobhan Davis Arc Team

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: Emotional, angsty, new adult romance. Standalone title.
Gabby
Looking back, I should have seen the signs. Perhaps I did, but I subconsciously chose to ignore them. From the time I was ten, when I first met Dylan, I knew he was my forever guy. Back then, I couldn’t put words to what I was feeling, but, as the years progressed, I came to recognize it for what it was—soul-deep love. The kind only very few people ever get to experience. Dylan was more than just my best friend, my childhood sweetheart, my lover. He was my soul mate. We were carved from the same whole—destined to be together forever. Until he changed. And I believed I was no longer good enough. 
Until he shattered me so completely, it felt like I ceased to exist. And I’d never experienced such heart-crushing pain.Until he leveled me a second time, and I truly wanted to die.
But I had to stay strong because I wasn’t alone in this cruel twist of fate.
I look to the sky, pleading with the stars, begging someone to tell me what I should do because I don’t know how to deal with this. I don’t know how to cope when my forever has changed, and I can’t help wondering if I had seen the signs earlier, if I’d pushed him, would it have been enough to save us? Or had fate already decided to alter our forever?


Review: Crying on my couch, surrounded by Kleenex and a concerned boyfriend asking if I’m okay. That is how When Forever Changes left me. Broken-hearted puffy faced but weirdly happy.

Gabby doesn’t realize how amazing she is so of course she doesn’t realize that two man are in love with her. She only has eyes for Dylan, her high school sweetheart and her soulmate. Until Dylan starts acting different and she doesn’t recognize the man in front of her. She looks around and realizes her life was only Dylan and now she must rebuild. But why did Dylan change and who will be her forever now?

If you are in need a of a good cry and a book that has so many twists, I highly recommend this book! Comment below if you have read it and if you cried as much as I did!

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind


Arc Review: A Blade So Black

36952594.jpg

Title: A Blade So Black

Author: L.L. McKinney

Genre: YA Fantasy

Publisher: Imprint

Publication Date:

Links: *Book Depository | Goodreads | BookBub | Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Source: Fierce Reads Arc

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: The first time the Nightmares came, it nearly cost Alice her life. Now she's trained to battle monstrous creatures in the dark dream realm known as Wonderland with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills. Yet even warriors have a curfew.

Life in real-world Atlanta isn't always so simple, as Alice juggles an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a slipping GPA. Keeping the Nightmares at bay is turning into a full-time job. But when Alice's handsome and mysterious mentor is poisoned, she has to find the antidote by venturing deeper into Wonderland than she’s ever gone before. And she'll need to use everything she's learned in both worlds to keep from losing her head . . . literally. 

Review: 

 

 

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

 

Arc Review: End Game

End Game Ebook.jpg

Title: End Game

Author: Emily Goodwin

Series: Dawson Family #2

Genre: NA Romance/Romantic Comedy

Publication Date: August 2, 2018

Links: Amazon | Goodreads

Source: Emily Goodwin/Enticing Journey Book Promotion

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: Getting pregnant was the last thing Quinn thought would happen. But now Quinn’s focus is to start the family Archer’s always wanted. The hard part should be over, right?

Wrong.

Ghosts from the past begin to surface. No matter how hard they try, the universe seems to have other plans that threaten to tear Archer and Quinn apart. Archer will not let the one thing he always wanted slip through his fingers. As events unfold, Archer finds himself going to lengths he never thought possible. After all he’s done to keep Quinn...will he lose her anyway?

END GAME is book two in The Dawson Family Series and concludes Quinn and Archer epic love story.


Review:  This book was full of romance, up until the very end!

 

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind


Links marked with a "*" are affiliate links - which means I receive a percentage of the revenue made from purchasing products through this link. Please consider using my affiliate links as a way to support me and my blog! xx

Arc Review: Forgiving Keven

| Thank you Siobhan Davis for gifting me this book to read and review |

forgivingKeven.jpg

Title: Forgiving Keven

Author: Siobhan Davis

Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance

Publisher: Independently Published

Publication Date: January 7, 2019

Links: GoodReads | BookBub | Amazon 

Source: Siobhan Davis Arc Team

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: She’s the one who got away. He’s the boy she can’t forget… 

Cheryl
They say you never forget your first love, but I’m determined to prove Keven Kennedy is just a random boy from my past. It’s not like I still think about him after all this time. Or daydream about how hot his kisses were and what it felt like to have his hands on my skin. Nope, that’s not me. I’m in a happy place in my life. Engaged to a great man and finishing the last year of my photography degree. But since I returned to Massachusetts, everything reminds me of the boy who ripped my heart to shreds. Especially when my fiancé’s constant business trips, and dwindling attention, raises old fears to the surface. And then the unthinkable happens—Keven saunters back into my life, turning it upside down once more. It’s ironic he thinks he’s protecting me when the only one I need protecting from is him.

Keven
They say you never forget your first love. In my case, it’s true. Most everyone in high school thought Cheryl and I were a match made in heaven and that nothing could tear us apart. Until I messed up spectacularly and lost the best thing to ever happen to me. Years have passed, girls have come and gone, but no one has laid claim to my heart in the way Cheryl did. I thought she was lost to me forever when an unexpected encounter with an uptight FBI agent, and an intriguing proposition, brings the beautiful blonde back into my life. I didn’t hesitate to sign on the dotted line. I let Cheryl down once before. I’m not going to fail her this time.


Review: This book was WAY move intense than I thought it would be. DAMN Siobhan, you are really killing it! Keven is a quiet, intense computer hacker who does everything to keep his family safe. When he sees that the love of his life is in trouble, he knows he will risk it all for her. Cheryl has a love of life, school and photography. She tries every day to forget about her first love and move on with her life. She has a fiancé and her life is moving along as it should. But not everything is as it seems and soon Cheryl will be in danger from the people she holds close. Cheryl will have to turn to the person that hurt her the most. Keven.

This story was a romantic novel that had my stomach in knots and had me rage flipping through the pages. My heart went out to Keven for his childhood and his misguided missteps. I was just straight up worried about Cheryl. She is in serious trouble and has no idea! This book had me on the edge of my futon the entire time! I highly recommend you check out this story. You can read it without reading the rest of The Kennedy Boys series but I recommend you read those as well!


Note: Forgiving Keven is a STANDALONE title in the Kennedy Boys world. No cliff hanger and a guaranteed HEA. Due to sensitive content, sexual situations, and possible triggers, this book is recommended to readers aged 18+.


 

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

Arc Review: Fresh Ink

freshink.jpg

Title: Fresh Ink

Authors: Schuyler Bailar, Melissa De La Cruz, Sara Farizan, Sharon G. Flake, Eric Gansworth, Malinda Lo, Walter Dean Myers, Daniel José Older, Thien Pham, Jason Reynolds, Aminah Mae Safi, Gene Luen Yang, Nicola Yoon

Genre: YA Anthology; Short Stories; LGBTQIA+

Publisher: Penguin Random House

Publication Date: August 14, 2018

Links: Amazon | Goodreads 

Source: NetGalley

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

SynopsisIn partnership with We Need Diverse Books, thirteen of the most recognizable, diverse authors come together in this remarkable YA anthology featuring ten short stories, a graphic short story, and a one-act play from Walter Dean Myers never before in-print.

Careful--you are holding fresh ink. And not hot-off-the-press, still-drying-in-your-hands ink. Instead, you are holding twelve stories with endings that are still being written--whose next chapters are up to you.

Because these stories are meant to be read. And shared.

Thirteen of the most accomplished YA authors deliver a label-defying anthology that includes ten short stories, a graphic novel, and a one-act play. This collection will inspire you to break conventions, bend the rules, and color outside the lines. All you need is fresh ink.


Review: The cover, was what first grabbed my attention with its beautiful colors and a brightness that made you want to grab it straight away. What made my think about this book, weeks after I read it, were the stories inside. The stories in this book were so good that I still think about them from time to time, reflecting on their meanings. I want to talk about a couple of my favorites that have stuck with me.

Why I learn to Cook by Sara Farizan - This beautiful story made my heart full of happiness. The relationship is so cute. I was very happy to read a story that featured LGBTQIA+ and the worries of family members opinions when you share more of yourself with them.

Catch, Pull, Drive by Schuyler Bailar - In this amazing story, I wanted to jump through the book and stand with Tommy. It made me feel emotional but also realize that this is something the LGBTQIA+ go through weekly… daily… hourly… be. an. ally. 🌈 

Super Human by Nicola Yoon - The last story in the book really makes you think about humanity and the reality of the climate of the world we live in. As a white girl, it puts into perspective what people of color must live.

As you can tell, I really enjoy this anthology!

 

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind



Arc Review: Surviving Amber Springs

survivingambersprings.jpg

Title: Surviving Amber Springs

Author: Siobhan Davis

Genre: Upper YA/NA Contemporary Romance; Reverse Harem

Publisher: Independently Published

Publication Date: December 26, 2018

Links: Amazon | Goodreads 

Source: Siobhan Davis Arc Team

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

SynopsisLet him who is without sin cast the first stone…  I’m the second-most hated person in Amber Springs. First place honors go to my twin, Ethan; however, hate isn’t a strong enough word to convey how people feel about him. Not that I blame anyone—some days, I hate him too. Mostly, I’m just lost and afraid, drowning in a sea of betrayal and guilt, wondering how this happened right under my nose. 

There’s no choice but to leave. To move clear across the country in a last-ditch attempt to start over. Transferring to a new school midway through senior year is hellish for most people. For me, it’s a welcome relief—until someone discovers our secret and now everyone knows. The pointing, whispering, and scathing looks follow me around again, and I’m back to square one. Except, this time, I’m not alone

Axel, Skeet, and Heath took me under their wing from the minute I arrived here. I’ve no idea why three of the hottest guys in town took any interest in me or why they continue to have my back, but I’m so grateful to have them in my corner. Because, right now, they’re the only reason I’m not following my brother into an early grave.

This is an upper YA/NA reverse harem STANDALONE contemporary romance. Due to sensitive content, sexual situations, and possible triggers, this book is recommended to readers aged 18+


Review: I am a massive fan of Siobhan Davis’s work and have been since I read Finding Kyler. When she announced this book, I was skeptical. I have never read, let alone heard of a reverse harem book. I wanted to read this book to get out of my comfort zone and open my mind to different kinds of romance novels.

Siobhan once again blew me away. This book took me on so many different emotional rides, I could barely hang on. The mystery aspect of the book was also another great piece. She always has a way to make you not know where a book is going to go.

I would say the polygamy part of the book was the hardest hurdle to over come. I think it is because I have never really thought about that kind of relationship before and also, I enjoy monogamous romance novels. That being said, the polygamy aspect was not hard to understand with these characters. They all loved each other and if it worked for them, then there is no room to judge!

 

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

Arc Review: Angry Annie

cd927966-21b1-40b0-8e03-eb70278e8847.jpg

Title: Angry Annie

Author: Dawn L. Chiletz

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Publication Date: July 12, 2018

Links: AmazonGoodreads 

Source: Dawn L. Chiletz/HappilyEverInsta

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: Joslyn Walters has goals:
1. Infiltrate the life of the internet troll, Annie McClintonuck, who wrote a nasty review for her sister’s bakery before it even opened.
2. Write an article exposing Annie for a fraud, thereby catapulting Joslyn's stalled career from fact-checker to journalist.
3. Flirt with, but don’t fall for, said troll's hot, seemingly shy, incredibly edible next door neighbor, Rhode Bennett.
4. Try not to let one week change her life.
Not all trolls are cute and fuzzy but some lemons are gold in disguise. 


Review: Angry Annie is a funny, heartwarming book. It is about Joslyn, a fact checker who wants to be a reporter and the internet troll that writes a bad review about her sisters soon to be open bakery. Joslyn decides to track down the internet troll and expose them for the awful things they write online. When Joslyn finally meets the internet troll, Angry Annie, she discovers that there is more to a person than meets the eye.

I really enjoyed the rollercoaster ride that Joslyn and Annie go through. They are both so stubborn, set in the their ways and need to learn how to open up. Annie's personality cracks me up and I just want to her a hug... even though she would hate it. Rhode is so cute and is a genuine good guy to both Joslyn and Annie. Joslyn and Annie's character development as well as all the crazy situations they get into, will make you laugh out loud. If you love reading romcoms, then check this book out!

 

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

 

Arc Review: Downbeat

39903540.jpg

Title: Downbeat

Author: Jodie Larson

Series: Lighting Strikes #4

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Publication Date: July 26, 2018

Links: Amazon Goodreads

Source: Jodie Larson/GiveMeBooksBlog

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: Downbeat |n|: The first beat in a measure, often the strongest.

Fame, fortune, traveling to different cities across the country…I’m living the dream. As the drummer for the Lightning Strikes, it’s my job to hook you in and keep you coming back for more. It’s my craft, my calling, what I’m a master at. 

Even with all that, I’m still just a normal guy who wants to eat at food trucks and lounge on the couch, playing video games until I can’t see straight.

Everything was perfect.

At least I thought it was, until a blonde bombshell walked into my life and made me question everything I thought I knew. 

I want her. I need her. 

Only, she’s afraid of the spotlight, afraid of what it’ll do to her and the ones she loves. The wall around her heart is keeping me out, but I know before long I will break down her barriers. 

She needs to know that there is more to us than what she sees, that this chemistry between us is our downbeat to forever.

All the guys in the band have their happily ever after. Maybe it’s time for mine. 


Review: Downbeat takes this rockstar romance series to the next level. Pax is always in the background as the drummer for Lighting Strikes and he is fine with that. He enjoys living under the radar of the paparazzi. With his hat pulled down low and sunglasses on, he walks around as if he is not a famous rockstar. His world gets turned upside down when he runs into Kylie, or rather, she runs right into him! There hasn't been any girls that he's wanted, until her. Now he will stop at nothing to win her over.

The Lighting Strikes series has been my favorite reads this year. I was very curious about Pax's story and how it will stand out compared to the others. Well let me tell you, it was one of my favorites! Pax is such a genuinely nice guy who loves food trucks (I mean who doesn't?!) and enjoying life. Then one day he meets Kylie and he will stop at nothing to win her over. 

This story will give you all the feels. I just put it down and I already want to read it again! I really recommend you check out this book. Thank you Jodie Larson and GiveMeBooksBlog for sending me this arc to read and honestly review!

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

Arc Review: No One But Us

e5341261-2976-4799-8959-af03214a909b.jpg

Title: No One But Us

Author: Elizabeth O'Roark 

Genre: Contemporary Romance; New Adult

Publication Date: July 18, 2018

Links: *Amazon | Goodreads

Source: Elizabeth O'Roark/Happily Eva Insta Tours

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: The last time I saw Elle, she was a child. A Harry Potter-obsessed 13-year-old with a penchant for fan fiction and following me around. Six years later she’s on my doorstep. The braces are gone. The “Team Gryffindor” t-shirt’s been replaced with a bikini the size of my index finger. And I can’t get her out of my head, no matter how hard I try. 

Except she’s still the girl I’m not allowed to have, the center of a secret I hope she never learns. 
Resisting what I feel for Elle Grayson is the only way to protect my family. But am I willing to break both our hearts in the process? 


Review: This story had my heart the moment I started reading it. Elle is a 19 year old, naive girl whose family has never really been around. When the papers find out her boss seems to think more of her as then an intern, she escapes to the beach house of her childhood best friend. Elle doesn't want the spotlight. She just wants independence from her messed up family. There is one good thing about the beach house, and that is her best friend's older brother, James. She has had a crush on James since she was young, but will he ever see her as more? 

I was emotionally invested in Elle and all the hardships she is going through. When she was feeling okay about herself, I was so happy! But when she was feeling outcasted, ignored and lost, my heart hurt for her. She is the kind of character that you want to see succeed and get all the of things that she deserves. James is definitely the older guy we have all had a crush on and wish it could be more. For most of the book, I was pretty mad at her best friend, Ginny, because she doesn't act like much of a best friend. I think this book also shows that our parents/adults can be just as screwed up as we are.

Thank you to Elizabeth O'Roark and Happily Eva Insta for letting me read and honestly review this book!

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

Review: This Mortal Coil

35666170.jpg

Title: This Mortal Coil

Author: Emily Suvada

Genre: YA Science Fiction

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Publication Date: November 7, 2017

Links: Amazon | *Book Depository  | Goodreads 

Source: Library

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: In this gripping debut novel, seventeen-year-old Cat must use her gene-hacking skills to decode her late father’s message concealing a vaccine to a horrifying plague.

Catarina Agatta is a hacker. She can cripple mainframes and crash through firewalls, but that’s not what makes her special. In Cat’s world, people are implanted with technology to recode their DNA, allowing them to change their bodies in any way they want. And Cat happens to be a gene-hacking genius.

That’s no surprise, since Cat’s father is Dr. Lachlan Agatta, a legendary geneticist who may be the last hope for defeating a plague that has brought humanity to the brink of extinction. But during the outbreak, Lachlan was kidnapped by a shadowy organization called Cartaxus, leaving Cat to survive the last two years on her own.

When a Cartaxus soldier, Cole, arrives with news that her father has been killed, Cat’s instincts tell her it’s just another Cartaxus lie. But Cole also brings a message: before Lachlan died, he managed to create a vaccine, and Cole needs Cat’s help to release it and save the human race.

Now Cat must decide who she can trust: The soldier with secrets of his own? The father who made her promise to hide from Cartaxus at all costs? In a world where nature itself can be rewritten, how much can she even trust herself?


Review: This futuristic, post apocalyptic novel had me hooked from the first chapter. 

Catarina needs to survive. She has been stuck in this disease ridden world since her father was kidnapped by the organization, Cartaxus. Her only friend is Agnes, an older lady she talks to over russian satellite. In this world, humans can communicate, heal and enhance themselves with technology. When Cole, a soldier from Cataxus, shows up, everything Catarina has known will be questioned.

Wow, I absolutely loved this book! I really liked the main character, Catarina, because she is a tough and smart suvivor who is also an amazing computer hacker. I am a computer nerd as well so I really wanted to be Catarina.

I also really enjoyed the post apocalyptic vibe, how the virus lives and how it is spread. Also, how in-depth the author goes to explain everything about the virus and the technolgy. It was so interesting! 

I will add a warning that some of the scenes are a bit graphic so I wouldn't recommend eating while your read this book. It did not bother me, but if you are a bit squeamish then I could see it bothering you. 

I highly recommend you check out this book!

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

Review: Guarded Desire

40217316.jpg

Title: Guarded Desire

Author: Christi Snow

Genre: Romantic Suspense; New Adult

Publication Date: June 21, 2018

Links: Amazon | *Book Depository  | Goodreads 

Source: NetGalley

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: Kidnapped and terrorized, I refuse to let anyone break me. I can stand on my own, no matter what it costs...even if that cost is my life.
Elle...
I was living the life of an ordinary college coed, but that existence was blown wide open when I was kidnapped while visiting my very famous mother, rock-star, ViviAnna. Now I’m back at college, pretending life is normal while dodging paparazzi and dealing with my face showing up regularly on the nightly news. Trying to find a new balance isn’t happening and the effort to not jump at every shadow or bump in the night is messing with my head more than I ever expected. 

Jonah...
I’m a highly trained bodyguard, but that doesn’t mean I want to deal with some spoiled pop princess’s daughter, especially if she’s anything like her handsy mother.  But when I met Elle, she shocked the hell out of me. She’s nice and thoughtful with an incredible inner strength. Even more surprising...she doesn’t want me anywhere near her. But every once in a while I see a flash of fear and vulnerability that make all my protective instincts flare.
I have to protect her.
Because they never caught her kidnapper...


Review: This novel was suspenseful and full of angsty romance. Elle has been through so much in her young life. She has a rockstar mother who runs hot and cold. She has issues with trusting the people around her because she has been used in the past. And now she has a kidnapper after her because he wants to finish what he started- making her beautiful like her mother. Elle is trying to pick up the pieces of her life and Jonah is hired to protect her. He is a tough, ex military bodyguard that wants to do his job and keep Elle safe. He doesn't expect her to be so kind and so beautiful. 

I enjoyed the push and pull attraction that these characters have. Elle is fierce yet vulnerable and Jonah is hard and caring. I also like the relationship between Dillion, Jonah's best friend and partner, and Tracy, Elle's best friend. I really want to read more about their relationship.

Thank you NetGalley for sending me this book to read and honestly review!

 

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

Arc Review: Cheat Codes

39721429.jpg

Title: Cheat Codes

Author: Emily Goodwin

Genre: Contemporary Romance; New Adult

Publication Date: May 31, 2018

Links: AmazonGoodreads

Source: Emily Goodwin/GiveMeBooksBlog

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - THIS BOOK WAS GIFTED TO ME

Synopsis: Archer has always wanted what he can’t have—Quinn Dawson. Since the moment he saw her, he’s been denying his feelings for her, ignoring the void in his heart he knows only she can fill. 
Everything about them was wrong, the kind of wrong that felt so right. But none of it mattered. Not the terrible timing. And definitely not the mess it would create if Archer made a move on his best friend’s baby sister. It was supposed to be one night, but one night is all it takes to make everything more complicated, and they only have nine short months to sort it all out.
No, none of it mattered. Until it did.


Review: This book kicked romantic butt! 

First of all, I love that Quinn is a b.a. computer nerd like myself. It is inspiring to read about smart girls who rock and men find attractive instead of inferior. Also, Archer is the doctor of my freaking dreams! 

I really enjoy brothers best friend romances. I liked the angst during the beginning of their relationship and how they fought for each other. 

I know the synopsis said "9 short months to sort it all out" but I'm apparently oblivious (lol) so what happened was a shock to me. I also did not see that ending coming! 

Thank you Emily Goodwin and GiveMeBooksBlog for sending me this arc to read and honestly review!

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind

Arc Review: Incognito

incognito.jpg

Title: Incognito

Author: Siobhan Davis

Genre: Contemporary Romance; New Adult

Publication Date: June 30, 2019

Links: *Book Depository | Goodreads | BookBub | Barnes & Noble | Amazon

Rating: ★★★★★

#AD - This book was gifted to me

Synopsis: A troubled popstar forced into hiding… A sweet small-town girl overcoming tragedy… And the kind of love that only happens once in a lifetime.
Dakota’s dreams of attending Julliard were shattered the night tragedy struck her family. It’s one year later, and she’s now enrolled at a local university trying to piece her life back together.
Shawn is one of the world’s most famous faces, having lived under a spotlight since his star exploded when he was fourteen. Now jaded by an industry forcing him to perform music he no longer enjoys, he craves normalcy and the opportunity to rediscover his muse. When a crazy stalker gets too close, and death threats start mounting, Shawn’s management team comes up with a plan—one which will allow him to work on his latest album while staying incognito on a college campus.
Romance is the last thing on Dakota’s mind, but after she crosses paths with a hot, prickly cutie with rock-hard abs and smoldering good looks, she can’t shake him from her thoughts. Shawn can’t afford to bring any girl into his fucked-up life, but the gorgeous blonde with the sad blue eyes captivates him in a way no girl ever has, and he finds himself falling hard and fast. 
But outside forces are conspiring against them. 
When danger draws closer, and secrets are revealed, will their love survive?


Review: This book is a college romance like no other. Dakota is suffering from a loss that makes her whole world shift. Now she is at a college she didn't plan to be at, in a major she doesn't care about. She is basically just existing. That is until Shawn shows up and changes everything.

Shawn is a young rockstar who has grown up in the spotlight. He is finally trying to grow up and change how he has been living. Shawn is out of rehab and living a clean, groupie free life. That is until his new stalker breaks unto his house and he must go into hiding until they are caught. 

I enjoyed the connection that these two characters have. They are like magnets that keep getting pulled together, even when they fight it. How Dakota allows herself to show the emotions she been hiding is heartbreakingly good. Also, I love the close friendships that Dakota has with Elsa, Tabs & Daisy. This book has so many happy emotions, heart-wrenching scenes and some on edge, look over your shoulder bits.

This is such an incredible story of overcoming tragedy and showing its never to late to grow as a person.  I highly commended it. Also, if you've read Inseparable, you will see some familiar faces in this book.

Thank you Siobhan Davis for sending me this arc to read and honestly review!

 

Thanks for checking out my post! xx

Samantha McCombs | BookishStateofMind

https://linktr.ee/bookishstateofmind